Flute Loops From the Rock

“It‘s easy to fall for the eclectic sounds of this creative mastermind, and you will probably get lost in your imagination while falling.“ (Rock Eden Magazine)

“MacPhail is forging new territory for musicians everywhere.” (The Flute Examiner)

Gemeinhardt International Touring Artist, Rozalind MacPhail is one of the world’s most buzzed-about flutists. An innovative leader in flute looping and live film scoring, this classically-trained flutist explores new ways to combine image and sound, in works that speak honestly of people, place and the human experience.

MacPhail combines live loops with recorded, manipulated sounds as she performs her emotive songs to contemporary silent film through Ableton Live. She was nominated for four MusicNL Awards in 2018 and was nominated for ECMA‘s “Electronic Recording of the Year.” MacPhail is producing her seventh album, GET YOUR FLUTE ON, to be released in 2020. Based in St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador, MacPhail is an active performer, film composer, session player and music educator.

MacPhail is the first-ever Canadian artist sponsored by the Gemeinhardt family, one of the music industry’s largest exclusive manufacturer of flutes and piccolos. Gemeinhardt President & CEO, David Pirtle says, ”Gemeinhardt is thrilled to sponsor the creative artistry of Canada’s looping flutist, Rozalind MacPhail. She is a dynamic and gifted performer who inspires through her lively audio-visual performances and interactive music workshops.”

MacPhail grew up in Canada on a small group of islands nestled in the harbour of Toronto, Ontario called Toronto Island. She has lived in many parts of Canada but it was the artistically vibrant city of St. John’s, Newfoundland that stole her heart.

Following years of classical music performance training at the Etobicoke School of the Arts,  University of Toronto and University of Ottawa, she has pursued her interest in a wide range of musical genres, while performing as guest flutist with other artists, including Yo La Tengo, Lou Barlow, Constantines, Great Lake Swimmers, Elliott Brood and Pick a Piper.

  • Featured Performer, Festival of Small Halls (2019)
  • Award Nominee, ECMA (2019) for “Electronic Recording of the Year” (LOVE AND LET BE)
  • Award Nominee, MusicNL Award (2018) for “Female Artist of the Year”, “Instrumental Artist of the Year”, “Educator of the Year” and “Side Musician of the Year” (LOVE AND LET BE)
  • Tour, 14-date performance and music clinic tour of Berlin and Sweden / Live at Heart Sweden
  • Tour, 5-date showcase/panelist at the National Flute Convention in Orlando, Florida
  • Tour, 9-date Cucalorus Festival sponsored tour of North Carolina / Cameron Art Museum, Cat’s Cradle, Cat Fly Film Festival and various yoga studios
  • Award Nominee, ECMA (2018) “Electronic Recording of the Year” (SUNSET SUNRISE)
  • TOUR – 26-date Long & McQuade / Gemeinhardt sponsored tour of Atlantic Canada / Long & McQuade stores, various schools, ECMA’s and Quality Block Party
  • First Canadian flutist to be sponsored as a Gemeinhardt Musical Instruments International Touring Artist (2018 – Present)
  • MacPhail created an album for Yin Yoga home practice in 2018 for the RPM Challenge, LOVE AND LET BE
  • MacPhail created an album of meditation music in 2017 for the RPM ChallengeSUNSET SUNRISE. It was nominated for ECMA Electronic Recording of the Year and MusicNL’s Instrumental Recording of the Year.
  • From 2015 – 2016, MacPhail collaborated with Canadian film director, Ingrid Veninger, improvising a live score of original music for her award-winning feature film, HE HATED PIGEONS which has screened at film festivals worldwide.
  • MacPhail has performed at the National Flute Convention and the Canadian Flute Convention.
  • MacPhail’s audio-visual project, FROM THE RIVER TO THE OCEAN premiered in 2016 at Gros Morne Summer Music and the Cucalorus Film Festival in Wilmington, North Carolina. It was nominated for MusicNL Instrumental Recording of the Year and won ECMA Electronic Recording of the Year.
  • HEAD FIRST, MacPhail’s collaborative audio-visual DVD project was released at the Banff Centre and also was co-presented with St. John’s International Women’s Film Festival at St. John’s LSPU Hall.  This project represents seven years of work curating and collaborating with musicians and filmmakers from across Canada.  The US premiere of HEAD FIRST took place in North Carolina at the 20th Annual Cucalorus Film FestivalHEAD FIRST was nominated for an ECMA and a MusicNL Award

Performance Highlights: NewFest, First Night Raleigh, Cameron Art Museum, The Rooms, Festival of Small Halls, Cat’s Cradle, Live at Heart Sweden, Cat Fly Film Festival, Dawson City International Short Film Festival, Banff Centre, Atlantic Center for the Arts, Canadian Flute Convention, Cucalorus Film Festival, Ashland Independent Film Festival, Nickel Film Festival, Atlantic Film Festival, St. John’s International Women’s Film Festival, Gros Morne Summer Music, Sound Symposium, National Flute Convention, MusicNL Week and TEDx St. John’s.

Rozalind seeks opportunities to create music for film, particularly through live performance synchronized to image. She looks forward to performing her original music worldwide, while connecting with audiences of all ages. As a music clinician, Rozalind has presented workshops in Canada and the United States in flute performance, live scoring for film, looping through Ableton Live and music career development.

Rozalind has performed on flute with:

AA Sound System
Abigail Lapell
Ace Kinkaid
Alpha YaYa Diallo
Amir Amiri
Amy Honey
Ana Miura
Andrea Simms-Karp
Ascot Royals
Ayla Brook
Brad Jefford
Carolyn Mark
Catherine Thompson
Chris Picco
Coco Love Alcorn
Craig Cardiff
Curtis Andrews
Dan Ficken
Danny Michel
Dave Bidini
Dave Carmichael
David Braid
Doug Hoyer
Elliott Brood
Eugene Skeef
Genevieve Legault
Great Lake Swimmers
Greg Hobbs
Hank and Lily
Harley Card
“Harmonica” George McConkey
Ian Foster
Ian Sherwood
In Support of Living
JD Edwards
Japan Batteries
Jason Bajada
Jason Collett
Jeremy Proctor
Jessica Stuart
Jill Zmud
Joe Belly
John Carroll
John Gillies
Jon and Roy
Jon-Rae and the River
Kevin Grant
Lindsay Ferguson
Lis Harvey
Lou Barlow
Matt Hopper
Matthew Barber
Melwood Cutlery
Mélissa Laveaux
Michael Burritt
Mike Yates
NQ Arbuckle
Pathological Lovers
Patricia Rodi
Peter Katz
Peter Webb
Pick a Piper
Rae Howell
Raising The Fawn
Reid Jamieson
Ron Leary
Sarah Greene
Sherry Ryan
Stairwell K
Tim Harrison
The Acorn
The Mountains and the Trees
Trevor Tchir
Wayne Omaha
We vs. Death
Yael Wand
Yo La Tengo